top of page

About Outbreak Experience

In 2018-19, a team of faculty from schools and programs in public health, medicine, pharmacy, and clinical mental health counseling from three universities in the same geographic area set out to develop an educational activity that would meet interprofessional education (IPE) accreditation competencies for health profession students from five disciplines (public health, medicine, pharmacy, clinical mental health counseling and nursing). 

They quickly realized that most IPE activities were patient rather than population-focused and did not incorporate mental health concerns or mental health professionals. In response, they developed a novel influenza outbreak activity that would not only fulfill IPE competencies for all participating disciplines but would also incorporate a health equity lens and community resilience.

Students using desktop computers.
About: About

Outbreak Experience Team Members

Picture of Dr. Neeley.

Dr. Sabrina Neeley


Dr. Neeley is the Associate Dean for Clinical, Global and Experiential Learning in the School of Education & Health Sciences at the University of Dayton. She is also an Associate Professor in the Department of Health & Sport Science where she teaches undergraduate courses in community health and epidemiology. She was on the original development team for the simulation activity when she was Director of the Population Health and Interprofessional Engagement Curricula at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine. Dr. Neeley was heavily involved with helping to coordinate the University of Dayton’s School of Education & Health Sciences’ response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Picture of Dr. Paton.

Dr. Sara Paton


Dr. Parton is an Associate Professor of epidemiology in the Department of Population and Public Health Sciences at the Boonshoft School of Medicine, Wright State University. She is the director of the Master of Public Health program. During the COVID-19 pandemic, she was responsible for coordinating vaccination center and contract tracing efforts in the Dayton, Ohio region. She was on the original development team for the simulation activity.

Picture of Dr. Jenkins.

Dr. Zachary Jenkins

PharmD, BCPS

Dr. Jenkins is an Associate Professor of Pharmacy Practice at Cedarville University where he is responsible for directing the infectious diseases curriculum for pharmacy students. In addition, he also precepts pharmacy students during their final year of clinical rotations. Dr. Jenkins serves as the co-director of the antimicrobial stewardship program at Atrium Medical Center in Middletown, Ohio, where he is involved with optimizing the care of patients with infections. He currently holds board certification in pharmacotherapy, and he has completed advanced certification in antimicrobial stewardship. During the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Jenkins was heavily involved with local and regional planning and response in his hospital network. He also served on the coronavirus advisory committee at Cedarville University, provided educational vlogs and town halls to the public, and he participated in over 200 interviews with local, national, and international media outlets.

Picture of Mr. Juin.

Mr. Fabrice Juin


Mr. Juin is the Project Manager for the Local Office on Minority Health at Public Health Dayton - Dayton & Montgomery County. In this role, he endeavors to reduce and eliminate disparities in the health status of minority populations while striving to provide equitable health opportunities within the City of Dayton and Montgomery County. Fabrice has a background in diversity and inclusion work, and uses these values as guiding principles to inform his community health approach. His career aims to ensure that no one gets left behind as progress is made in the sphere of public health.

Picture of Ms. Ellison.

Ms. Sylvia Ellison


Ms. Ellison is a Community Data Coordinator for the HEALing Communities Study at the Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center.

Picture of Dr. Hall.

Dr. Scott Hall


Dr. Hall is a Professor and Program Coordinator of the Clinical Mental Health Counseling Program in the School of Education & Health Sciences at the University of Dayton.

About: Team Members


This project is specifically supported by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), Center for Surveillance, Epidemiology, and Laboratory Services (CSELS), Division of Scientific Education and Professional Development (DSEPD), Population Health Workforce Branch, Academic Partnerships to Improve Health initiative through Cooperative Agreement 5 NU36OE000008-04-00 with the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR). Its contents are solely the responsibility of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official views of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention or the Department of Health and Human Services. 

This online educational resource was made possible through the APTR Acceleration of Prevention and Population Health Education grant program, which seeks to expand and improve public health and health professions education by disseminating effective methods of integrating complex topics into existing courses and curricula. By working with the following institutions, who provided support, funding and guidance, we've been able to bring you these free online educational resources.

University of Dayton School of Education and Health Sciences Logo
Cedarville University Logo
Wight State University Logo
APIH Logo_final_op3_edited_edited.jpg
About: Clients
bottom of page